Positive Community: A New Class Of Leaders…

Class of 2011 Leaders

By Nolan Patrick Smith

High Desert Daily

(Victorville)—On June 13th, 2011, twenty-two of the High Desert’s most devoted citizens took the next step in being the best leaders they can be.

The Leadership Victor Valley Program 2011 held its graduation ceremony Monday evening, recognizing the accomplishments and dedication of their 2011 class. The program, created and offered by the Victorville Chamber of Commerce, takes citizens through a journey of what it really means to be a leader in this day and age.

“The need is for future leaders in the community to get an insight of what goes on behind the scenes” Victorville Chamber of Commerce Chairman Sharon Rodriguez shared with HighDesertDaily.com at the event.

VV Chamber Chairman Sharon Rodriguez, Mayor McEachron, and Mitzelfelt rep Garner Morris

The program, which started in 1993, has produced over 265 alumni, which include some of the High Desert’s brightest stars: Vici Nagel, Debbie Cannon, Mark Austin and Victorville Mayor Ryan McEachron, who was on hand as a speaker at the event.

“I can ultimately point to Leadership Victor Valley for me becoming Mayor of Victorville” the Mayor said during his speech.

The program, which is comprised of ten classes that cover six core subjects and an array of electives, starts every January and comes to a close in June. The classes include a wide range of speakers, all from leadership roles in the community. Speakers for 2011’s courses included Victor Valley College Foundation’s Ginger Ontiveros and Excelsior Charter School’s Michael Hayhurst to name a few.

Class Speaker for the class of 2011, Derek King, who was chosen by his classmates to be their speaker. During his speech, he reached out to his fellow classmates with a show of strong camaraderie: “If you need support, I will personally lend you my voice.”

If you would like more information on Leadership Victor Valley or the Victorville Chamber of Commerce, you can visit their website at http://vvchamber.com/.

The Class of 2011:

Marci Aguayo

Vito Bello

Elizabeth Brown

Georgia Duncan

Nancee Fine

Brandy Garner

Patricia Gonzalez

Merri Grove

Kathy Hopkins

Vanbotra Huang

Colleen Hunt

Derek King

Teresa Letner

Angela Marquez

Dale Marsden, Ed.D

Vanessa Martinez

Josh Maze

Angela Miller

Arsalee Morales

Dine Perez

Dulce Razon

Christal Walton

1 comment for “Positive Community: A New Class Of Leaders…

  1. June 20, 2011 at 11:37 am

    Congratulations to all!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *