(Victor Valley) – It only takes two seconds to buckle up. Two seconds! And those two seconds could literally save your life. They will also keep you from getting a ticket and a fine.
Law enforcement throughout California will be looking for drivers and passengers who don’t buckle up during the “Click It or Ticket” seat belt enforcement campaign. They will be on the lookout for drivers and passengers – including passengers in the back seat, day and night.
“Click It or Ticket” debuted in California in 2005, and since then the state’s seat belt use rate has increased from 92.5 percent in 2005 to a record high of 96.2 percent in 2010, representing over 1.25 million more vehicle occupants who have started buckling up.
The minimum ticket cost of an adult seat belt violation in California is $142 and up, and a minimum of $445 for not properly restraining a child under 16. If the parent is not in the car, the driver gets the ticket.
There is a long holiday weekend coming up, so when you load up the family for a road trip, a trek across town or just driving to school or work, please do so safely – day and night. Don’t put your own life at risk, or the life of your family or friends. Buckle up.