37 CSUSB Public Administration Students Inducted Into National Honor Society


By Staff Reports

(Victor Valley)– The top students of Cal State San Bernardino’s public administration program were recognized for their academic achievement when they were inducted into Pi Alpha Alpha, the national honor society for public administration students.

A total of 37 students – 29 graduate students and eight undergraduates – were formally inducted at a ceremony at the university’s Lower Commons. The honor society encourages and recognizes outstanding scholarship and accomplishment in public affairs and administration. Pi Alpha Alpha membership identifies those with the highest performance levels in educational programs preparing them for public service careers.

To qualify, the students must have maintained a 3.7 grade-point average in their master’s degree program or a 3.5 GPA in their undergraduate program. The public administration department is housed in the College of Business and Public Administration.

The university recently established its chapter of Pi Alpha Alpha, now one of 160 chapters around the world at NASPAA member schools. NASPAA is the membership organization of graduate education programs in public policy, public affairs, public administration, and public and nonprofit management.

The Cal State San Bernardino public administration graduate students inducted into Pi Alpha Alpha during the June 13 ceremony were: Stacy Booth, Michael Camber, Jacqueline Carillo, Alejandro Cassadas, Jenele Davidson, Aaron Ellingwood, Gilbert Estrada, Michael Floyd, Rachel Fonseca, Kim Hunsaker, Tammie Johnson-Iozolla, Roman Krastev, Sharon Pierce, Jeanine Plute, Christy Rodriguez, Oliver Rodriguez, Erin Schulz, Jamie Segovia, Cherylee Sevilla, Chris Smith, Matt Snellings, Patricia Sotelo, David Tankersley, Frank Tiburzio, Rebecca Tortes, Mark Valdivia, Chelsea Wilson, Rene Yarnall and Nicholis Zappia.

The Cal State San Bernardino public administration undergraduate students inducted into Pi Alpha Alpha were: Olivia Nicolina Ayres, Cyndal Chavez, Jennifer Chrystie Holmes, Suzan Huor, Christiana Teppy Kalawa, Ilene Lujan, Blake Daniel Oberle and Jeremy C. Stetson.

Visit the Pi Alpha Alpha website at http://pialphaalpha.org for more information on the national honor society.

For more information on Cal State San Bernardino, contact the CSUSB Office of Public Affairs at (909) 537-5007 and visit news.csusb.edu.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *