McEachron, Lovingood to Lead SANBAG

LovingoodNewBy Staff Reports

(Victor Valley)– Victorville City Councilman Ryan McEachron and San Bernardino County Board of Supervisors Vice Chair Robert A. Lovingood were elected to the top leadership positions of SANBAG, the transportation planning agency for the County.

“Today I was honored by my peers by being elected President of the San Bernardino County Association of Governments (SANBAG); our county’s regional transportation planning agency. I thank them for their show of support to both the High Desert region and me.”

The election of McEachron and Lovingood is the first time in recent memory where both top positions have been held by elected officials from the High Desert.

“Transportation policies have a major impact on the growth of jobs and our economy,” Lovingood said. “So I look forward to working with the Board on innovative projects that will make a difference for commuters and job creators alike.”

As the County Transportation Commission, SANBAG supports freeway construction projects, regional and local road improvements, train and bus transportation, railroad crossings, call boxes, ridesharing, congestion management efforts and long-term planning studies. SANBAG administers Measure I, the half-cent transportation sales tax approved by county voters.

“SANBAG’s importance to our region is clear for our economy and residents,” McEachron continued. “A great deal of rail transportation items from Southern California’s port comes through the inland ports of San Bernardino/Colton and SCLA on its way to other regions in our Country. The transportation and logistics hubs throughout San Bernardino are impacted by improvements made through SANBAG.  Most importantly to all of you, are the transportation projects that help move our residents throughout San Bernardino County.  I am happy to take on this challenge and look forward to my term as President.  I will proudly represent the residents of the High Desert in this task.”

McEachron was elected to Victorville City Council in 2008 and was reelected in 2012. He is the Chief Executive Officer of ISU Insurance Services – ARMAC Agency in Victorville. He served on the Victorville Chamber of Commerce Board of Directors for six years and served as its Chamber Chairman of the Board in 2000-2001 year.

With a career in business, Lovingood was elected to the County Board of Supervisors in 2012 and has worked to bring greater accountability and a more business-friendly approach to County government. In 2015, he was elected vice chair of the Board of Supervisors.

SANBAG is governed by the mayors and city council members of the 24 cities and the five members of the San Bernardino County Board of Supervisors.

The election of officers is initiated by the seven-member Nominating Committee. The Nominating Committee members are: President L. Dennis Michael, City of Rancho Cucamonga and Dennis Yates, City of Chino, representing the West Valley; Dusty “Rhodes” Rigsby, City of Loma Linda and Dick Riddell, City of Yucaipa, representing the East Valley; Bill Jahn, City of Big Bear Lake and Curt Emick, Town of Apple Valley, representing the Mountain/Desert; and Supervisor James Ramos representing the County.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *