President Morales Honored at NAACP’s 76th Annual Freedom Fund Gala

By Staff Reports

(Victor Valley)– Cal State San Bernardino President Tomás D. Morales was among the honorees at the Riverside Branch of the NAACP’s 76th Annual Freedom Fund Gala on May 3.

Morales was honored with a kente cloth as a lifetime member of the NAACP. The dinner was held at the Riverside Convention Center.

Representing the university with Morales were Prince Ogidikpe, executive vice president for Associated Students Inc.; Marlo Brooks, vice president for the Student African American Brotherhood; Brian Haynes, vice president for Student Affairs; Claudia Davis, associate professor of nursing; Marc Fudge, associate professor of public administration; Lori Caruthers-Collins, assistant director of Diversity Initiatives; Anthony Roberson, associate director of operations for the Santos Manuel Student Union; Pam Langford, director of Executive Affairs. Dina Walker, president and CEO of the BLU Foundation, also joined the university delegation.

The mission of the NAACP is to advocate for political, education, social and economic equality of rights for all citizens, as well as eradicate racial injustice. The NAACP-Riverside Branch has been fulfilling this mission serving the community for 76 years. The organization has been recognizing significant contributions at this gala affair since the mid-1950s when the first Freedom Fund Dinner was held.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *