Mason Promises Openness, Transparency at Swearing-In Ceremony

By Staff Reports

(Victor Valley)–Ensen Mason was sworn in as San Bernardino County’s new Auditor-Controller/Treasurer/Tax Collector (ATC) at noon Monday, January 7, at the San Bernardino DoubleTree Hotel before an enthusiastic crowd of over 180 civic leaders, friends, and neighbors.

Mason ran a strong, taxpayer-friendly campaign to unseat incumbent ATC Oscar Valdez in the June primary election. In his remarks following his swearing in, Mason doubled down on his campaign promises to increase openness and transparency in the operation of his office.

“San Bernardino County residents deserve prompt, efficient, and friendly service along with the benefit of the doubt in transacting any business with our office,” said Mason. “They also deserve an ATC fully committed to ending fraud, waste, and abuse of their hard-earned tax dollars.”

Mason was sworn in by his proud father Thomas Mason as Jami Lilienfeld and son Travis Mason looked on.

Board of Supervisors Vice Chairman, Supervisor Curt Hagman, served as Master of Ceremonies at the event. “Ensen Mason has been a highly successful CPA and financial advisor in San Bernardino County for over thirty years,” noted Hagman. “He will make an excellent ATC.”

Supervisor Janice Rutherford led the Pledge of Allegiance and commented, “Ensen will do an excellent job of representing San Bernardino County taxpayers.”

Board of Supervisors Chairman Robert Lovingood also attended and said, “I’ve known Ensen for many years in the high desert. He has helped thousands of individual taxpayers, and will do a good job on behalf of all San Bernardino County taxpayers as our ATC.”

“Since his election, Ensen and I have met several times,” said Fifth District County Supervisor Josie Gonzales. “During our talks, he shared his vision for the office of the Auditor-Controller/Treasurer/Tax Collector. In his voice, I heard the genuine passion he has for his new role in public service. I appreciate the energy he brings and I look forward to working with him to serve the residents and businesses of San Bernardino County,” she added.

Other notables attending the ceremony were:

  • Third District Supervisor Dawn Rowe, San Bernardino County
  • San Bernardino County Board of Supervisors Chiefs of Staff Phil Paule, Katherine Kolcheva, and Dan Flores
  • Shannon Dicus, Undersheriff, San Bernardino County Sheriff’s Department
  • Gary Ovitt, current Board Member, Chaffey College Governing Board and former Fourth District Supervisor, San Bernardino County
  • Sue Ovitt, Board Member, Chaffey Joint Union High School District
  • Gary McBride, Chief Executive Officer, San Bernardino County
  • Steve Boydston, Board of Directors, Lake Arrowhead Community Services District
  • Gil Navarro, Board of Directors, San Bernardino Valley Municipal Water District
  • Edward Carrillo, City Treasurer, City of Rialto
  • Jeff Allen, Council Member, City of Grand Terrace
  • Sandra Rose, Board of Directors, Monte Vista Water District
  • Tony Lopez, Board of Directors, Monte Vista Water District
  • Toni Momberger, Council Member, City of Redlands
  • Sonia Alvarado, Board Trustee, Ontario-Montclair School District
  • Jeremiah Brosowske, Council Member, City of Hesperia
  • Louis Fiorino, Chair/Board Trustee, SBCERA
  • Neal Waner, Board Trustee SBCERA
  • Vere Williams, Board Trustee, SBCERA
  • Michael Kennedy, Board Trustee, SBCERA
  • Errol Mackzum, Former Auditor/Controller-Recorder and current member of the Board of Directors, Running Springs Water District

ATC employs 336 professionals in eight major divisions and is the financial foundation of San Bernardino County government. Mr. Mason will also serve on the Board of Directors of SBCERA, which is responsible for the management of over six billion dollars in employee pension funds. A welcome reception was held at the hotel immediately following the event.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *