CSUSB Hosts Eighth Annual Pioneer Breakfast

By Staff Reports

(Victor Valley)– The Black Faculty, Staff and Student Association (BFSSA) at Cal State San Bernardino will host the 8th Annual Pioneer Breakfast on Friday, Feb. 28, from 9-11 a.m. in the Santos Manuel Student Union Events Center, with the theme “Leading a Legacy to Black Excellence.”

The Pioneer Breakfast, which coincides with the celebration of Black History Month, serves as a fundraiser for six scholarships benefitting current CSUSB students: J. Milton Clark, Mildred Henry, Terrylin Monette, John Overton, Jean Peacock & Walter Hawkins and the Belva Holder scholarships. Proceeds also support the annual Black Graduation recognition ceremony.

The event will also honor six community members. This year’s honorees are:

  • Monica Stockhausen, Emerging Leader Award;
  • Mayor Deborah Robertson, Community Icon Award;
  • Herbert English Jr., Staff Award;
  • Dr. Elise Traynum, Alumni Award;
  • Cynthia Linton, Administration Award;
  • Althea Waites, Faculty Award; and
  • Jesse Felix, Lorraine Frost Ally Award.

Tickets for the Pioneer Breakfast are $25 for faculty, staff and community members. Doors open at 8:30 a.m.

To reserve a table, purchase tickets or to sponsor a student attendee, please contact Anthony Roberson, associate director of operations in the Santos Manuel Student Union, at aroberso@csusb.edu or (909) 537-7198.

For more information about the Black Faculty, Staff and Student Association, visit the BFSSA website.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *