By Staff Reports
(Victor Valley)– Riding in a school bus is the safest way for children to travel to and from school; California has not had a fatality involving a pupil on a school bus in over 25 years. Although distance learning is currently still in effect for most students, bus transportation has resumed for some of our elementary schools offering in-person instruction. The Victorville office of the California Highway Patrol reminds motorists to understand and follow every safety measure in place as elementary students return to the classroom. setting.
- Drivers in both directions must stop when a school bus stops in front of them and extends its stop sign with flashing lights on any two-lane road without a median or any two-lane road with a center turn lane.
- The fine for passing a school bus can be up to $600 in California.
- Anytime you see a stopped school bus, anticipate the possibility of a child walking or running across the roadway weather the stop sign is extended or not. Always slow down and be vigilant.
As part of the overall responsibility of ensuring safety for all students and school pupil transportation, the CHP is responsible for certifying the state’s school bus drivers. This includes written and behind-the-wheel testing, fingerprinting, passing an intensive training program with the California Department of Education (CDE) ensuring licensing requirements are met with the California Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) and the Emergency Medical Services Authority.
For more information on school bus safety, visit the California highway Patrol website at www.chp.ca.gov.